The Big, Bad Pre-Trip Check List

Arrived in KL

My super tiny backpack and I in 2011

Based on the amount of stuff I have to get done in the next 5 months, I’m trying not to panic. I’ve been so busy with work for the past few weeks, I honestly have no idea where the days have gone! I know I said that I’m trying to be flexible with my trip planning, but even this is ridiculous! I’m yet to decide on an itinerary, I haven’t got any of my shots as yet, and the only list I’ve created so far is a packing list draft.

Here’s the list of stuff which needs to be done at this point in time:

1. Visit my doctor for a travel consultation and start getting my shots (Yellow Fever etc.)

2. Continue saving until I arrive at my savings goal

3. Earn more frequent flyer miles

4. Decide on a loose itinerary, and research the countries I’ll be visiting

5. Look into travel insurance

6. Get into shape (work out so that I don’t wimp out with my backpack on my shoulders for hours)

7. Apply for an International Driver’s License

8. Officially arrange the time off with my job

9. Research and book the first 2 flights

10. Look into visas, and apply for any needed from the local embassies/consulates

11. Get about a dozen passport photos taken

12. Finalize the trip budget

13. Finalize the packing list

14. Get all the items on my packing list

15. Figure out how I’ll stay connected on the road

16. Sign up for any tours which need to be booked in advance

17. Create business cards with my contact information to keep in touch with new friends

18. Copy, Scan and Print/Upload important paperwork

19. Inform my bank of my trip and possible countries which I’ll be visiting

20. Buy and download books to my kindle

21. Tell more friends and loved ones

22. Spend time with said friends and family before leaving

23. Freak out

24. Pack my backpack

25. Say goodbye and set off into the unknown!

 

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment