Changing With the Tides of Time

Image

A beautiful street clock in Innsbruck, Austria

Time really has a way of allowing us to only remember the great times. We idealize situations and totally disregard the stressful, trying and frustrating instances which usually comes before success. I’ve done the same, as I’ve completely forgotten how tough it is to plan a Round The World Trip. Especially there’s less than 12 months to plan.

 The dreams are bigger now, the goals are more complex, but the general wish remains the same. I want to see more of the world we live in, and I’ll work my butt off to make it happen.

For my first RTW, I must’ve spent the equivalent of 2 full months in total researching travel related information online. Everything from which visas are required of me in advance to what are the best sights to see in a city. Well, I’m back in the saddle, and while it’s easier in some ways…. It’s now harder in others.

I now know exactly what my travel style is. While I still fully support the faster pace of travel, I now intend to stay 3 days in a city as opposed to being okay with an overnight trip. I crave the human connection aspect of travel, which is difficult to experience when constantly on the move.  Some of the best times of my previous RTW trip were spent with new friends, and making friends on the road takes time. 

With this in mind, I’m now trying to plan my next trip. The Budgeting Phase is complicated as I’m still currently unsure as to the timeframe I will be going for, but I know it won’t be less than 2 months. If I can leave for longer, that would be even better! While I had a blast racing around the globe in 3 weeks in 2011, I’ve grown since then. When I daydream these days, I picture spending 5 days in Paris and a week in the Philippines. Let’s see what I come up with!

So I’ve successfully redefined myself in the aspect of travel. The Planning Phase is now running full steam ahead! I haven’t been everywhere yet, but it’s on my list!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 14, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

