Tough Decisions Can Royally Suck….

It’s with a heavy heart that I made a big decision last night.  I’ve decided to postpone my RTW trip 😦

hourglass

I was originally planning to depart between the months of January and March, but instead of Spring 2014, the date has been pushed back to Late Summer/Early Fall 2014. I feel as though I could cry.  There are several reasons for this unfortunate delay, and I’m going to share them with you guys.

Firstly, I underestimated the timing needed to plan such a big trip.  Truth be told, if I really wanted to push it, I could make it work, but it would be a grossly simpler version of my original dream.  I’d have to leave out too many destinations that I’ve been looking forward to, and in the end I fear that I’d regret it.

The second reason is: Expectations.  I wanted this trip to be unforgettable.  In order to do that, I had quite a lot of big ticket experiences on my wish list such as Skydiving and an African Safari.  These events alone will add up to possibly more than my flights!  I definitely need a few more months to sort these out and as much as it breaks my heart, I don’t want to let myself down.

Another reason why I’m willing to delay my dreams for a while is the very thought that it’s a Big Life Decision.   Emotionally, financially and mentally, I committed to this trip and after all of the hard work and sacrifices I’ve made so far, it simply wouldn’t make sense not to see it through 100%.  What’s that old saying?  ‘Go Big Or Go Home!’… I guess in my situation, it’s ‘Go Big or Stay Home!’

So I’m now going to look at the positive side of things.  I refuse to be a pessimist.  I now have time to save even more money than I thought I would be able to.  I can use the extra months to brush up on my Spanish so that I can have two languages to rely on when meeting people around the world.  I can earn more airline miles to make my route even better and best of all, I can slow down my planning pace.

So world…. although it’s going to take me a little while longer to hang out with you, I’ll be there before you know it.  Thanks to you my readers for ever supporting my dream, and hopefully you’ll still hang on for the ride!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on August 18, 2013, in Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I really appreciate this post and can definitely relate. I too feel as though I’m rushing trying to put together a trip to Spain when ideally I think I need more time to plan and save more money. Instant gratification is a big issue for me and I’m so eager to see the world just like you:)

    • Hi there Jaimee! Instant gratification is exactly what’s making me feel depressed. Wanderlust is a powerful thing! I wish you all the best with your trip to Spain, and I hope you make the right decision, whatever that may be. Most of all, Happy Travels! 🙂

  2. Hey Jodi, I’m sorry to hear your trip is postponed. The bright side is you’re still going! Yay for that and all those other bonuses you mentioned 🙂

    • Vanny! Yh, it’s really disappointing, but I’ve made peace with the decision because I know it’s for the best. Hope all is well with you and thanks for stopping by! 😀

  3. travellinghelga

    Hi Jodi,
    That’s such a shame you have to delay your travels. Just think how much sweeter they will be when you make it though! I’m really not a planner when it comes to travel, other than a vague route of countries I want to hit. I pretty much wait til I’m in a destination and then plan ahead about a week at a time. So don’t stress if you haven’t planned as much as you want, the best experiences are always the random/spontaneous ones.
    Best of luck with the rest of your preparation 🙂
    TravellingHelga

    • Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! I think the main reason why I have to delay is because I realized that I really want to visit the Arctic, and Greenland isn’t cheap! So, instead of penny pinching the rest of the trip in order to make it to Greenland in my original timeframe, I grudgingly decided to wait a few more months. You’re so right though… I’ll love the trip more if I get to live that dream! 😀 Happy travels!!

  4. I agree, it will be the sweeter for the wait. Good luck with all the planning 🙂

Leave a Reply

