A Lovely Weekend Trip to Grenada!!!

Cliff
Last month, I made a quick journey to the Spice Island of Grenada in the Southern Caribbean. My very first Godson lives there, and it’s been 3 months since he was born. It was definitely time for me to meet him. I packed my bags the night before, and woke up at an atrocious hour in the morning for my flight down South.  I had a bit of a delay in Barbados, but I luckily arrived at my destination only 2 hours later than originally expected.

It was so wonderful to see my best friend Rockebah and her gorgeous bouncing baby boy, Jaquawn. He stole my heart in a few seconds flat!

IMG_8944

IMG_8978

Grenada isn’t your typical Caribbean island. While there are a few lovely white sand beaches, most of its beauty is found within the center of the island. There’s a massive rainforest inland, with glorious green foliage and rolling hills as far as the eyes can see. It’s no surprise that Agriculture is a dominant industry there!  The tiny roads wind through the countryside, with countless bends, ascents and a few steep descents. It was quite a stark contrast to my home island of Antigua!

DSC06167

DSC06212

Grand Anse beach is the most popular seaside spot in Grenada.  The sand was gloriously golden, the water was a beautiful blue and the salty crisp sea breeze was stimulating. I took a quick dip in the water then retreated to a beach bar for a couple of drinks.

GrandAnse

IMG_8898

DSC06123

DSC06116

The next day, we went on a road trip through the island. I visited the Annadale waterfalls and Lake Grand Etang. These natural attractions were pretty amazing and well kept.

DSC06189

 

DSC06209

I’m definitely returning to this spectacular island by the end of this year! Grenada deserves more than just a whirlwind weekend trip and I’d love to see my lil’ man start to creep/crawl. I can’t wait!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on April 4, 2014, in Photo Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. So nice place. Hope you had a great time there!!

  2. I did! Can’t wait to go back 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. The Falls shot is gorgeous, Jodi 🙂 And he’s a lovely babe.
    I still can’t get used to the idea of someone calling Antigua home! It’s so exotic to me.

  4. Grenada -this is where my mother is from 🙂 she actually moved back there a few weeks ago! im glad you enjoyed the beautiful island

    • I’m planning to go back really soon 🙂 It’s a really green country with exceptionally friendly locals! Thanks for stopping by 😀

Leave a Reply

