A New Beginning…

Those who have been following my blog may have realized that for the past year or so, I haven’t been on a major trip. I’ve been recounting short trips to Europe and North America, as well as my RTW taken in 2011.  I’ve hinted in January that I was considering a large trip for early 2013, and now that it’s the middle of the year, I believe I should now elaborate.

DSC03888

The travel bug is vicious. Once it bites, it takes hold and no amount of shaking usually gets rid of it. It seeps into your pores and forever rests in the back of your mind. I’ve been experiencing severe cases of wanderlust, to the point where I’m finding it hard to focus on the simple and mundane activities of everyday life. When you begin daydreaming while driving, something needs to be done!

DSC04704

I’ve decided to start planning for another RTW trip, which will kick off in January 2013. This leaves me with approximately 6 months left to boost up my savings and set in things motion. This trip’s plan will be quite similar to that used in 2011, but since this is going to be a bigger trip, there’s much more to consider. I’ll be off to the doctor in a few days to speak to him concerning the various vaccinations needed, and the timeframes between different types of shots. Honestly can’t say I’m looking forward to that!

At this point in time, much of the trip is still uncertain. The length of trip as well as the itinerary is still very much in the air, but this makes me flexible. All i know is the first destination must be the Caribbean isle of Grenada, to visit a very close friend and to be present at her first child’s Christening. At least I have a starting point! With almost 200 countries in the world, even choosing where to begin was becoming stressful.

So, it’s time to plan. I’m excited. I’m nervous. I’m happy. The Countdown Begins!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So excited for you Jodi – let the excitement wind up as the countdown winds down!

Leave a Reply

