New Year, New Resolutions For Travel

Happy New Year Everyone!!!

For some of us, this symbolizes new plans, good intentions or a combination of both. For me I definitely have a massive plan ahead of me for this year which will take undying commitment for the foreseeable future. I will be going on a Spending Diet for the next 12 months, in an attempt to save for another ‘Trip of A Lifetime’ in February 2014.

DSC00908

How much are we talking here?? $15K Eastern Caribbean Dollars Β (XCD) in 12 months…. Sounds pretty hard doesn’t it?? A big part of being able to travel, is being able to save enough cash. The thing that makes travel affordable, is how well you budget that money to get the most out of it. While I try to save this $15K, I have regular bills to pay, a car to take care of, insure etc. and the normal day-to-day expenses to keep up with. So you may now ask how is that going to work? The short story: I have to cut back on my spending, and make an everyday conscious effort to put in my savings instead of leaking it out of my pocket.

It’s hard to realize how fast small amounts add up! A $5 here on that ‘final’ drink, a $4 cup of brew everyday and paying $20 a week for Blackberry Service plans add up in no time. I’m going to need to make sacrifices if I really want this trip. Somethings worth having, don’t come easy. So here are a few of my Saving Guidelines for 2013:

(Prices are in XCD)

1. Go out less… (night outs cost a lot of money, and will tempt you to spend more than your intended budget)

2. Watch more movies online. (Save $25 -$30 on a movie night).

3. Start to pack meals to work (Average lunch costs $20+)

4. Stop using the ATM so fast (ATM fees do add up)

5. Replace BBM with Whatsapp… (a cheaper alternative)

6. Stop buying new clothes unless absolutely necessary

7. Quit buying things I want but don’t need. (For example, fashion accessories)

8. Start polishing my own nails more often

9. Save all loose change in a piggy bank…(all those cents do turn into dollars)

10. Create a vacation fund, and pay that first, then live off the remaining balance.

These guidelines will be difficult to follow at times, especially when friends don’t want to accept why you want to stay in on a weekend. Times like this is when I will need to read other travel blogs to remind myself of how awesome it will be in the end.

So that’s my New Year Resolution! What’s yours??

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on January 1, 2013, in Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Jodi, I’m doing exactly the same! I’ve been cutting off my daily spending as much as 100% from my previous budget because I’m also planning for a big trip and smaller preceding trips. It took a lot of effort at first but after a while I feel guilty if I spend too much on something. πŸ™‚ Good luck with the saving plan!

    • It’s a great sign when buyer’s guilt kicks in. That means that you really are focused, but only made a small mistake in spending. Hope the both of us reach our goals for 2013! ~Happy Travels~

  2. Great plan Jodi! Cutting down on going out will save heaps! My first RTW – my friends at work asked how I could afford it. I asked how much they spent at the bar each weekend – was shocked, and told them that is how I save it! Rare trips to the bar and dinner parties in with friends saves a tonne! Happy planning.

    • Thanks for the support Anita! It’s a simple concept, but it takes a lot of commitment to follow through. I’ll be training on the job for a year, so I’m planning to take off on a global adventure as soon as the training period is over. As of today, I can say I’m leaving next year February! So exicted!!! Thanks for reading~

  3. Sounds like a good plan – and the way you describe it, you will manage to reach your goal.

    I hope for better health for my parents and end being single for myself.

  4. Hi,
    A very achievable plan and I know that 2013 will bring you all your dreams and goals. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I tried to keep the goal realistic. I’m not very sure right now what exactly I plan to do, but opportunities pop up when you least expect them to, and I just want to be prepared! When you’re in love with Travel, you need to make it a priority LOL!

  5. Number 10 will be your saving grace – and work out ‘free’ things to do with your friends that run into the evening so you don’t loose touch – I’ve been doing it all my travel life and it IS worthwhile, I reckon πŸ™‚ Good luck!

  6. Thanks! I really hope I pull it off! Travel really is worth it πŸ˜€

  7. I admire the fact that you are working towards your travel plans instead of sitting around envying others. My one advice to any one that says they envy me, is that if you want it badly enough, you will do it. Good luck with your plans Jodi…may all your dreams come trues in 2013 πŸ™‚

    • Those that envy never seem to think about all of the sacrifices and hard work that travelers go through to make their dreams a reality. It’s only the end result that catches their attention. Travel is for everyone, but as you pointed out, you really need to want it badly enough! Thanks for the support Madhu!

Leave a Reply

