Overnighting in South Beach, Miami

There were several direct flights from Trinidad to Toronto, Canada…. but I wasn’t interested. There’s just something about Miami that calls to me. I love being there, and this stopover would be my 5th time visiting. I’m not sure if it’s mostly due to the Caribbean-like weather that predominates the region, but that’s definitely a plus!

I checked into the Miami Beach International Hostel, arriving with two other girls who I met at the airport. It was so random that as soon as I arrived in the city, I found two backpackers who were staying at the same hostel that I was heading to. I took it as a good sign, and the night hit off to a great start.

DSC03701

The hostel is awesome! Very clean and modern with an ultra-chic lounge area complete with backlights, massive flat screen televisions and a huge crystal chandelier hanging from the roof.

I spent most of that night doing what any sane person would due when stuck overnight in South Beach…. I hit the club scene!

DSC03702

The hostel organized a limousine for us, and it was so nice to roll through the South District in style. The hostel had these handbands that we’d pay $10 USD for, and we got free drinks from their bar, admission to two clubs and free drinks until midnight! That was a really great deal, and saved a massive sized dent in my pocket.

DSC03704

My visit to South Beach was brief yes, but I had a blast! Florida is one of those few destinations that just never seem to get old for me. My trip definitely was off to a great start!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on December 27, 2012, in USA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I want to go back to Florida again – maybe see the Keys this time around. What a Deal on Clubbing – SCORE!!! Have a Great One:)

    • I’ve never been to the Keys but the next time I find myself in the state, I’ll make a trip there. Yeah, that’s the best $10 spent on a night out so far! 😀 Thanks for reading!

  2. Florida and Miami are great places indeed!

  3. Have never been, but Florida is on my list. Enjoy the rest of your time there 🙂

Leave a Reply

