Plans for 2013!!

The year 2012 is almost over, and new things have been planned for this blog! Aside from sharing my travels from this year, there’s a bigger piece to my 2013 puzzle! I will be now actively saving and planning for my next RTW trip now that school is finished, and I will be recording the entire process in detail here over the next 12 months.  I know  how hard it is to keep focused when you’re saving for a big trip, and I think by sharing my experience with my readers, I will keep a better track of my finances.

Counting Cash In Cambodia

Counting Cash In Cambodia

If you’ve been reading my posts for a while, you would have realized that I don’t travel for long periods at a time. That’s just my preferred way of travel. I love when a country constantly amazes me and gives me bursts of adrenaline to see what’s around the next corner. I’ve tried long term travel, when I lived in Trinidad and Tobago for over 6 months, and while it was an awesome life experience, I can’t honestly say it’s something that I’d want to do on a regular basis.

Ok! I got a little off track for a minute! Let’s go back to the future Round the World Trip planning, shall we? I’m thinking of leaving for 6-8 weeks this time, and it’s going to be action packed! I love reading about all the crazy adventures others have around the planet, and I think it’s time I joined in! Skydiving, scuba,  and (maybe!) bungee jumping are all in the line up!

The reason I’m planning and saving for a year for this trip, is based on the time frame of my first RTW trip. It took me 7 months to organize a 4 week trip which wasn’t so adventure filled, so I’m adding an extra 5 months as a buffer for this upcoming journey.

The destinations aren’t set as yet, so any opinions and tips are most welcome!! I can’t wait! Planning is half the fun, and I’ll be reading other’s travel blogs (such as yours!) for tips and receive loads of inspiration. Let the quest begin!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on December 21, 2012, in Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Adventure is what you make of it on the road….don’t over plan! So excited for you and your RTW plans…I am sure you will have an amazing experience.
    My recent 3 months in Europe had the last few weeks totally unplanned. I would book the next city as I was getting ready to move on….and I loved it. It left me free to be flexible and follow the advice of locals. I absolutely fell in love with San Sebastian…a town I had not even heard of until a handful of Spanish all told me that I had to go there. I stayed put for an entire week and would have gladly stayed longer. That is the best tip I can give – leave your schedule open and flexible…know what your must do things are, but let some stuff unfold!
    Happy travels.

  2. Cannot wait to hear the details for your RTW trip – Cool! Happy Holidays:)

  3. 😀 Thanks and same to you and your family!

  4. Nothing I love more than planning a trip, Jodi, but you can rest assured that mine will include no bungee jumping or skydiving whatsoever!

  5. Wow. RTW trip must be awesome.

    I want to wish to You and Yours Happy Holidays!

    Old Christmas postcards

    Matti.

  6. No crazy adventures for me either Jodi. Look forward to seeing how your plans unfold. A compulsive planner myself, but yes do leave time for things to ‘happen’ 🙂

    • I think planning is important, so that you know what your choices are, but I agree with you that sometimes it’s the ‘surprises’ that make a trip that much more memorable. It’s going to be rough trying to stay put, but I’ll give it my best shot! Thanks for reading Madhu!

Leave a Reply

