Returning Home After 3 Months Abroad

It was an awesome feeling, seeing my country from above as the plane started its descent towards the V.C.Bird International Airport. My friend Vonia was to pick me up from the airport instead of my parents. Why? Simple. My parents had no idea that their only child was enroute back home!

After joyfully greeting Vonia, we sped home after 12am, woke my parents up at that crazy time of the morning to say ‘SURPRISE’! All the planning and secrecy was totally worth it. It feels good to realize how much I was missed. Ok… enuff with the reunions lol.

What did I do in Antigua during my 48 hour weekend stay? Let’s find out!

Antigua Carnival Party Monarch Competition: Different soca artists perform their hit songs to be King/ Queen of Carnival 2012

I then went to the beach for the first time for the Summer with Vonia and her little sister, where I did some water sports including jet skiing and tubing!

Ate a lot of local food at home, and talked for hours with the family. I ate Caribbean Pepperpot, salt fish and chop up, and goat water (pictured below).

Coming back home, even for such a short trip was awesome. I went to church with mom, had coffee with friends by my favourite harbour side cafe, and I bonded with my canine best friend, Chardonnay. Life… sometimes the simple things are all that matter!

 

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Antigua and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Your parents must have been over the moon 🙂

    • Hahaha! There was quite a bit of screaming involved! It was really nice though. 3 more months left in Trinidad, and I’ll be home again. At least, until the travel bug bites again 😀

  2. Love seeing the family after a long time away! “Sometimes the simple things are all that matter” – agreed! 🙂

    • It was really lovely to see them Vanny. It was crazy how fast those 3 months flew by, and after the next 3 months, I should be back home with them once again! Being away from home renews your sense of appreciation. Thanks for reading!!

  3. Hey Jodi, I didn’t know that you’re also the only child! The same thing with me here. 🙂
    By the way, looking at your first and second pictures really makes me want to go to the Caribbean where festivals seem to be a part of everyday life. So interesting!

    • We do have a lot of festivals lol. I think part of it stemmed from the African Heritage of the Caribbean. Seems like we have a lot in common Bama! 😀 😀 The world really is smaller than we think it is!

  4. Wow. Great photos. The second last photo from the end is awesome.

  5. It was awesome LOL! I can’t wait to do it again 🙂
    Thanks for passing by!

Leave a Reply

