Queen’s Park Savannah, Port of Spain

It was a long week of classes in a dull air conditioned room, so I really needed to get some sunlight and fresh air. When the weekend came around, a friend suggested that a day around Queen’s Park Savannah may be a great idea for exercise and great views. It was quite a workout too, as Queen’s Park Savannah forms the largest traffic Round-a-bout in the world!

There were lovely spots everywhere to sit and relax. The trees provided much needed shade as we walked along.

  

We then had some lovely coconuts, straight out a fridge with straws. It was beyond refreshing, given that the sun was hot!

Finally, there were several interesting buildings all around the park. Here are two that seem to belong to different times:

It was all in all, a day well spent. I do believe that this was the best part of Port of Spain, Trinidad that I’ve seen so far.. and I can’t wait to keep exploring. After being stuck in a room for hours upon hours… sometimes nature is all the therapy you really need!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on June 2, 2012, in Trinidad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Glad you escaped for a while. I’m sure it’ll all be worthwhile in the end.

  2. Seems like a lovely day out over all! Six months will pass by before you know it!

  3. “Nature is all the therapy you really need”. That is so true! Nature always gives me a relaxing effect no other entertainment can give.

    • I’ve found that it helps to calm my stress levels at times. I do try to get in tune with Mother Nature as often as I can! Thanks for reading!

  4. Nature does really relieve stress. Pair that with exercise, and it’s a great high!

Leave a Reply

