I’m Leaving Again!

Delta taking off from St. Maarten, taken during the yacht trip

Aircraft on Final Approach

It’s been confirmed… Next Saturday, I will be boarding a plane to Trinidad and Tobago where I will be living for the next seven months! I’m being sent on an Air Traffic Controller course, so this trip is being taken care of by the government. I’ve never been away from my home for such a long period of time, but I’m quite excited! I’ve been working in the field for 4 years now, and it’s time to take my career a step further!

One thing however, which is causing me a fair amount of stress at the moment, is trying to figure out what to pack! I only intend to leave with one regular sized suit case and a carry on, so minimal packing is key. I have no clue where to start. I leave in just over 6 days from now… Do you see the dilemma?

Have you studied abroad before? This is my first time, so please do share any tips that you may have!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great adventure ahead! have fun, enjoy, make new friends, and be careful!:)

  2. Whoa- sounds scarey! Air traffic control?
    Setting’s good though. You won’t need many clothes and they’ll dry fast. Good luck!

    • Yeah, I won’t over do with the clothing. I also love the excuse to do some shopping after I get there ๐Ÿ™‚ Air Traffic Control really is a little scary huh, but I love the field! It’s travel related, so you know that makes me happy! Thanks for the good luck wishes!

  3. Hi,
    Wow, that is fantastic, it’s like a new beginning in a way, and I know you will meet some very nice people as well, who will help and support you. I never got the chance to work o/seas unfortunately, so I can’t give you any tips, but I wish you all the best on this new adventure. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. So you work at the ATC. How cool! I think now I know why in your gravatar picture you seem to be wearing things that only pilots and those who work at the airport wear.

  5. How wonderful! Makes me wish I was young again and going off on such adventures ๐Ÿ™‚ All the best!

  6. Congradulations Jodi! I guess we won’t miss you because you will be blogging all about Trinadad and Tobago, Right?!! You’re in the big leagues now and probably get some free air travel. At the very least, you’ll be working with people who are travel and have more $$$ to travel! Sounds pretty perrrrrrrrfect!

    • Thanks so much! You’re definitely right! I won’t just desert you guys at all!!!! Yeah, I’ve been an Air Traffic Control Asst. for the past 4 years, so it’s about time my turn to train came around! I’ll be working with the same set of people after training, but I do get a raise! Thanks for all of the support! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • You surprise me Jodi! First, I think you’re an American by your expressions (except for the “hahahahaha!”), find out you’re from a small Carribean Island (you must have gone to school in the US, right?!), then I think you may not have traveled a lot (you’re young) and may not again for a while until you “save up”. You never mentioned your job in transportation, very cool! My father was a decorated WWII pilot. Two air traffic controllers (husband and wife) lived across the street from my parents in Manassas, VA. They worked out of Dullas. I understand your delima about what clothes to take, I’m a fashionista too (I can tell you are by your stressing!). I’m sure you will take your cue from your coworkers and what they wear.

      • ๐Ÿ˜€ I think I’ve managed to confuse quite a bit of my followers. (I’m thinking that I may have to update my About Me page!) However, I totally understand why I surprised you. Truth be told, I’m somewhat of an oddity in my country. When most Antiguans think of venturing overseas, they usually only consider USA, and the ‘daring’ ones may travel to England and France. I’ve only met a few other Caribbean nationals who have been to Eastern Europe, and even less would consider going to Asia etc. My mom installed the travel bug into my soul from a young age. She’s taken me on 2 cruises and several trips to USA and Canada, so when I started working, it came natural to save cash for trips. I’ve always been into Languages, so thats why I probably confused you with how I write. I use a mixture of slangs from the US and the UK. We are very intertwined with USA, but my island was colonized by the English so my speech is influenced by both nations!

        I mentioned my job in the very first posts I wrote on this site, and I guess that I haven’t done that for a while! Ever since I was a pre-teen, I always knew that I wanted to work at the airport. I used to beg my parents to drive to the airport during the weekends so that I could watch the jets land and take off! The way I saw it, if I couldn’t travel all of the time, I’d like to have an active role in helping other people with their travels. I sound addicted hahaha! I actually never studied in the USA. I’ve never studied abroad at all actually. This training course will be the first time and I’m rather stoked! Why did you figure that I’ve studied in the US? ๐Ÿ˜€

        Your dad sounds like an impressive person! That’s pretty cool!!! I’m really glad that he made it through the war. As for your parents neighbours, having a marriage with two ATC workers is actually quite common! In Antigua, there are several in my workplace. I guess when you work shifts together, and have to trust each other to the degree that is needed in the field, getting married to a coworker works!

        I have to agree with you! I am a bit of a fashionista :p I’ve been researching online about what to pack, and I’ve been getting a lot of good advice. It also doesn’t hurt that Trinidad has many huge shopping malls, and that the conversion rate is very favourable. One EC$ is worth $3 TT, and 1 US$ is worth $6 TT. Translation: SHOPPING!!! What I don’t walk with, I’ll buy when I get down there ๐Ÿ™‚

        You’re very observant, and I really appreciate you taking the time to read my articles. I think all bloggers like to know that their readers care, and your comment helped to make my day! Cheers!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. This is awesome! I think a normal size suitcase and carry on will be enough especially since you’re not going anywhere cold and won’t have to pack anything like a heavy coat. So excited to read about your adventures there!!

    • Trinidad is smack off the coast of South America, so the temperatures there are very much like that of the Amazon during the Summer!!!! I’ll definitely have to pack lots of light clothing to beat the heat. I can’t wait to see what adventures lie ahead too! Thanks Vanny!!!

  8. That is awesome! Enjoy.

  9. Wow, wow and wow. I “envy” You about that Air Traffic Controller course! That is so great. I know quite well ATC, because I was working many years in Ramp Control Tower having cooperation with ATC at Helsinki airport.

    • Hahaha.. yeah it’s a great field to be in. Isn’t Aviation great?!? I’m sure you loved your job back then. Sorry about the envy ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for reading!

  10. Are you buried under textbooks and manuals? Have you made some new friends? I hope everything is going well and you found some cool clothes. We miss you! I just did a blog on the old historic Main St. Station, Richmond, VA where I live. Thought you might find it interesting since it has to do with transportation and built in the Second Rennaisance Revival Style. Some of the detailing comes from the 14th Century Palazzo Medici in Florence, Italy. I included some pictures of the Palazzo Medici…

    • Yes I am! Totally buried! I’m sorry to have disappeared like that but after I complete 3 different tests on Monday, I promise to post all about my first week in Trinidad! Thanks for all the support, and I’ll be sure to read your article! ๐Ÿ˜€ Cheers!

Leave a Reply

