Introducing: My Homeland

In all the 7+ months in which I’ve been blogging on this site, I’ve never given an actual shout out to the country in which I was born and raised. Therefore, I think I should dedicate a few posts to my favourite country in the world, Antigua. Antigua is part of a twin nation country of Antigua and Barbuda, and it’s located in the Caribbean Sea, smack in the middle of North and South America.

Just a few days ago I decided to tour my island, so I booked a catamaran trip with Jennifer, my friend from the European half of my Round The World Trip. The ‘Wadadli Cats’ sailing tour lasted for half a day, from 9am to 3pm and took us to snorkel on Antigua’s Cade Reef and to Turner’s Beach to relax for a bit. Antigua is also known as Wadadli, which is the original name which was given to it from ancient Indians who landed on its shores.

The catamaran tour was great, and allowed me to be wowed by the beauty of my nation from a gorgeous point of view:

Our Catamaran, Wadadli Cats

My flag, proudly waving from the catamaran

Sailing through the blue waters

Shades of blue

Almost at Cades Reef

Under the sea!

Beautiful corals

Fish Face!

Adventure Antigua

What do you think of my country so far??

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Antigua, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Beautiful place Jodi! 🙂

  2. So, it’s Antigua and Barbuda! (Actually I’ve been wondering which Caribbean nation you are from since the first time I followed your blog, but I always forget to ask! :)). Looks so idyllic. Seems like a perfect place for a holiday!

    • Hahahaha! Yes, it seems like I forgot to mention as well!! 😀 Yeah, it’s a small island, but it’s got a lot of life in it! Right now, I’m sipping an expresso martini in my favourite cafe in Nelson’s Dockyard, watching all the boats and yachts sailing in and out. I really do love my country 🙂

      • And I just had dinner with fried prawns and a glass of tea (oh how I sound so British :)). Sounds like you’re having a really good time right now!

  3. Beautiful Place – Beautiful Photos – that water is so BLUE!!! Thanks for sharing – great place to call home by the way!

    • I’m glad you like it! Yeah, the water is pretty breathtaking. I dived off the side of the catamaran and it was awesome! Sometimes, you don’t have to travel far to find adventure!

  4. Beautiful! I could live here forever! My exposure to these islands so far has only been through cricket!

Leave a Reply

