Across The Caribbean Sea!

After returning home, there was no way I could keep still after being on the road for so long. I was very restless for the first couple of days, then one of my Couchsurfing friends from Hungary (who lives in Antigua) gave me a great opportunity. I got a sweet deal to sail from Antigua to St. Maarten on a 40 foot Beneateau yacht!

I’ve never been sailing before, so of course I agreed to go! My friend Vonia was interested in doing a bit of shopping in St. Maarten, so she asked to come along as well. We only had to pay $180 each, and who knows if I would ever get to sail for such a cheap price again in the near future? I only had 3 days notice so I had a bit of preparations to do. Seasick pills would have to be bought, stock up on my favourite candy and pack enough layers to beat the cold winds in the open Caribbean Sea.

Before I knew it, the day had arrived! I met the crew: Captain Harry from England, Serg from Antigua who was doing a RYA Sailing course and a volunteer sailor from Europe. They were all pretty cool guys and they did an excellent job in getting us across the Caribbean Sea to St. Maarten. It was smooth sailing, and no one was sick. I was even allowed to steer the yacht for a bit!

Immigration took their sweet time with stamping our passports, but eventually we were in! Here are some photos from the trip:

My friend, Vonia

Captain Harry

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Photo Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Awesome experience! How did you friend find this deal of a steal?

    • My friend is staying with the family of one of the managers for the yacht company. They were doing a personal run to St. Maarten to do a bit of shopping, so we just got to go along for the ride! If we were chartering the yacht for our own purposes, we would then have had to pay the regular fare. It was really a cool experience! It was a little bumpy at times, and at night we had to wear those sailor jumpsuits and life vests! Regardless of the unflattering dress code at times, it was still a great trip! Thanks for reading Vanny 🙂

  2. Sailing! Hmm, looking back to my previous experiences on boat, I don’t think they’re for me. I always got terrible seasick. But looking at your pictures makes me really want to go sailing.

    • Oh my! I get you on the seasickness though. Have you tried using pills to make the trip easier? Although I love being on boats, I’ve never traveled on such a small one for such a big distance. There were many hours on the open sea, with no land in sight. Definitely not for the faint hearted! Thanks for reading as always! 🙂

  3. You are sailing – what a cool experience! My other half would love to do something like this. Thanks for sharing – cool pics!

    • It was definitely an adventure! I’ve never been sailing before, and instead of trying it out for a simple day trip, I took an entire weekend and sailed to another country. I believe in the saying ‘If you’re going to do something, do it right!’ The journey was a bit rough at times, but I loved it regardless. I would definitely do it again. Your other half should do it soon! It rocks! Thanks for reading!!

  4. Hi,
    Like you I have never been sailing either, it is great that you got such a wonderful opportunity to do so, and at little cost. Don’t you just hate the red tape sometimes associated with passbooks, but still well worth it all in the end. By the photos, a lot of fun as well. 🙂

    • You should most certainly give sailing a try one of these days! I really got a crazy deal with the price, because sailing in the Caribbean is usually something that costs an arm, a leg and maybe your kidneys too! As for the passbooks, I definitely agree with it being a pain! Even more so for people like me who come from a small island. On my trip, I can’t count the amount of attention my poor passport got. From Vietnam Immigration officers trying to figure out where the heck Antigua is, to Malaysian airport security gathering in groups to gawk at my ‘strange’ document! But you’re right… it’s more than worth it! Thanks for reading!!!

  5. Oh wow! I’m just catching up tonight or I never would have left that comment about saving up on your last blog. What an opportunity!

  6. Sounds fabulous! Cute captain too 🙂

  7. You looked like you were really loving piloting the boat! Really nice water pics. You look thinner than when you first started the European leg of your trip.

    • Ah yes! The life of a Pretend Captain was awesome! Hahaha. I really did lose a bit of weight from since I started traveling. I guess that’s what happens when you have to leave all of your comfort foods behind! Also, all that walking around and sometimes hauling a backpack all over is great exercise 😀 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

