Journey to the Swiss Alps

The last full day of my RTW was epic. I completed a dream from my bucket list by making it to the Swiss Alps! Jennifer and I took a train from Lucerne early in the morning and enjoyed a lovely trip through the countryside until we arrived at Engelberg, the jump off point for Mount Titlis. The journey to the top was beautiful, but the views at the top were nothing short of breathtaking! Let me take you along on my journey!

Early morning view in Lucerne

Paraglider in Engelberg

At the Mount Titlis gondola station

Going up in the gondola

The forest line of Mount Titlis

Past the forest line...

Excited in the gondola!

Welcome to Mount Titlis!

Stunning Scenery of the Swiss Alps

Perfect alpine vistas

Expensive 16 euro meal on the Alps

I made it!

We took a spin on the Ice Flyer

The Ice Flyer

Flying over glaciers on Mount Titlis

We then went caving!

Chilling out in the glacier cave

A great day with a great friend. Love ya Jenn!

Dreams are meant to fly! Let yours spread its wings!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on March 25, 2012, in Switzerland, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love to travel but I don’t get to do it as much as I want. So, I get to leave through great pictures like yours.

  2. Anytime you plan for another RTW trip and thinking of putting Indonesia in the list, please let me know! 🙂 I can feel your excitement from your posts about your recent RTW trip, Jodi! I haven’t had any travel quite epic as yours.

    • Thanks Bama! You’ve been super supportive from the very beginning, and it’s friends like you why I love to blog! As a matter of fact, I’m already making plans for another trip. I would love to visit Indonesia, once I figure out how to get a visa LOL. I will definitely let you know!

  3. Beautiful pics – thanks for sharing!

  4. Oooh can FEEL the chill in those ice caves! Nice pics.

  5. Hi,
    Fantastic photos, and beautiful scenery, looks like you had a fantastic trip, but the old sausages and chips are very expensive indeed. 🙂

    • Thanks! Yeah, it totally shocked us. However we weren’t about to cut our mountain time short because of a few hunger pangs that only (gulp) almost 20 euros could cure. LOL.

  6. We just finished our 2nd RTW on March 9th, also ending in Europe. It’s a tough transition coming home, isn’t it? Did you have a favorite stop? Thanks for sharing your experiences.

    Tamara

    http://www.turtlestravel.wordpress.com

    • Coming home was only made easier by the decision to save and plan for another RTW trip! It’s very addictive, and I see that you guys did two! My favourite stop was Cambodia. The country was gorgeous, the people were beyond friendly and the Angkor Complex was awesome! Travel rocks!

  7. Wow! Stunning pictures!

Leave a Reply

