My Austrian Detour

I didn’t intend to go to Austria. Seriously. After leaving the cruise ship in Venice, the plan was to take a train to Lucerne, Switzerland and spend the weekend in the Alps. What were the odds that all the trains from Italy to everywhere in Switzerland would be totally sold out???

Stuck at the train station in Milan, Jennifer and I made a split decision. We would take a train over to Innsbruck, Austria and spend the night before going over to Switzerland the following day.

We arrived in Innsbruck around 9pm, tired, cold and lugging all our baggage. We found a pension with a twin room for 30 Euros, so we booked it and called it a night. The next morning, we decided to do a mini tour of the city before boarding our train to Switzerland  at 1pm. As soon as we left the pension, this is what we saw:

The Austrian Alps were towering over the city with a fresh dusting of snow! The view was so amazing, that we just stood there on the sidewalk gaping for quite a while. Eventually our stomachs complained, so we went into a bakery and grabbed some breakfast.

We then booked ourselves a ticket on a city tour bus, just to get a quick view of the town. This tour was only 3 euros.

The bus took us to parks, the city hall and eventually up a hill to see the Ambras Castle. We were having so much fun at the castle that we didn’t keep watch on the time, and bus left without us! Stranded on the hill, we did the only thing that two backpackers would do. We walked all the way back to the train station. The journey took 2 hours, but the views we saw were worth it! See below:

 

Made friends with the locals…

And I stuffed my face again!

 I did a city tour, got stranded and saw some of the most amazing views all in 5 hours! This detour turned out to be so much better than I ever could have imagined! Sometimes, the best of plans go wrong. This doesn’t mean that your trip won’t be epic regardless! Happy travels!!!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Europe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What an experience – thanks for sharing!

  2. I love that you made the best out of your unfortunate situation, which didn’t turn out to be the case at all since you were rewarded with views breathtaking views!

  3. Ha! I definitely rolled with the punches, and I’m so glad that I did!

  4. Wow!!! What a breathtaking view of the city with the majestic Alps as the background. I would stare at that view for a long time if I were there.

    • It really was amazing! I’ve never seen anything quite like it before. We would have stared for longer, but we had a train to catch! LOL

  5. Loved the towering snow capped alps! The scenery reminds me of winter sports and iceskating – my favorite winter outdoor sport when its cold enough, though not in Richmond, VA, where I’m from. I’m jealous, you both probably saw more snow in one day than most of us experienced combined this winter! Did you spot any skiers? We had snow but it was gone in a day. See my blog if you want proof!

  6. Snow is a pretty rare sight for me, since I live in the Caribbean! I was pleased as punch to see the fresh dusting of snow on the Alps. I actually saw a few skiers and snowboarders heading up to the mountains with their gear. I’ll definitely check for your proof! :p

Leave a Reply

