Polignano a Mare, Southern Italy

The Southern Coast of Italy is a seriously breathtaking place, where some travelers never bother to explore. Everyone ooohs and aaahs over the major cities like Venice, while others remain unheard of to most international ears. Before planning my trip, I haven’t heard of Ravenna, Bari, nor Polignano a Mare, yet I ended up in all three within a week’s time!

Buying train tickets

The cruise ship stopped at Bari, and things were rather quiet in town, so my new friends and I decided to jump on a train and head for Polignano a Mare for a few hours. The journey was simple enough, entailing a bus from the port to the train station Bari Centrale, where we bought tickets for a round trip to the coastal town.

After rolling through the lovely seaside villages, and passing by fields and fields of olives we eventually arrived in Polignano a Mare. We asked some locals for the direction to the cliffs where we wanted to see, and off we went. It was Autumn in Italy, but given the fact that we were at the coastline, the wind felt very chilly, and as usual I was unprepared wearing a short pink dress! Bummer.

My chills were soon forgotten however, as the lovely town and beautiful seaside views blew me away. Enjoy!

Polignano A Mare

Needless to say, this was a great day trip and I highly recommend!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Italy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a lovely town! The fact that it is situated on the edge of a cliff just makes it even more interesting.

Leave a Reply

