My First Gelato!

After arriving in the city of Ravenna in Southern Italy, I decided to go into the Information booth for a map to help me find my bearings. The lady at the counter was very helpful, even going as far as to open to map, and circle a few of the best things in town that were worth checking out. She told me that Gelateria Cavour had the best gelato in the city, and I should most definitely stop by.

Gelato sounded perfect to me, so I actually decided to head to the gelateria first. The map provided precise directions, and after walking for ten minutes, I saw the sign on a small yellow building. There were several folks already inside, most being passengers from my cruise ship, The Voyager of the Seas. Consumers at a food establishment is always a positive sign, so I had no qualms whatsoever about waiting a while for my turn.

In the mean time, I looked about the gelateria, and noticed something interesting and unexpected. They were many gorgeous cakes lined up in a large refrigerator near the entrance. They were of all different shapes and sizes, and iced with all the colours of the rainbow. I was quite surprised, as I’ve never seen a gelateria specializing in customized cakes before. They looked amazing, but they weren’t being sold by the slice, so I unfortunately wasn’t able to sample any.

The line started to move a bit faster, as an extra worker apparently came on duty. When it was my turn, I had no idea what to order! There were so many sweet goods to choose from, and all of them looked enticing. There were small plastic cups containing a wide variety of gelato and assorted toppings. Some cups appeared to have gelato with a layer of cheese cake, topped with black cherries, and I was seriously tempted.

Then my eyes noticed another sublime masterpiece in a cup: coconut gelato with actual chopped coconut as the topping. I was becoming overwhelmed, when I remembered that there were actually still people behind of me waiting for their turn. I decided to start off with something simple, and ordered a cone with two different flavours. I chose cookies and cream for the base, and added a layer of yoghurt gelato on the top. The lady who served me then stuck a smaller sugar cone in my gelato, which I assumed was for aesthetic purposes.

About to take that first taste! Mmmmmm!

My bill came up to three euros, which was reasonable given the size of my gelato. I went outside, and had a seat in one of the few chairs positioned against the wall. The first taste was delicious, and it only got better and better until all was gone. One would expect that after eating a gelato of that size, my sweet tooth would have been satisfied, but that was not the case.

I found myself back in the line once more! Thankfully, it was a bit shorter this time around, and within five minutes, I was back at the counter. This time, I wanted to order a few of the homemade choclate balls which were on display in the glass counter. They had different toppings such as hazelnuts and powdered sugar. I took one of each and made my exit for the final time.

Gelateria Cavour has a wide array of sweets and cakes, not to mention a great deal of gelato flavours. If you ever have a sugar craving while in Ravenna, do not hesitate to stop by.

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Italy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh man its over 33 in melbourne – I sure could do with one of those!

  2. love it!

Leave a Reply

