My Venetian Experience!

Venice was a lovely city. I went to the airport to meet my friend Jennifer, who had flown in from Antigua to meet up with me. It’s really a great feeling to have a friend from home pop by to see you halfway during a journey!

After we hugged and laughed for a while, we found our hotel and dropped off our luggage. Our hotel was actually overbooked, and the owner (who apparently owns 3 hotels in the area) upgraded us to another one of his hotels! Jackpot! The hotel was called Hotel Tito, and was in an extremely charming small town in Venice Mestre.

Hotel Tito

Later in the afternoon around 4pm, we took a tram and a bus over to the Venice Lagoon. It was so magical. The canals and the quaint bridges, the gondolas with their gondoliers and the Venetian buildings with their stunning architecture was just like everything I’ve ever dreamed of. Well apart from the large crowds lol.

We followed the signs which were located on buildings and posts, as we tried to maneuver our way through the throngs of tourists as we searched for San Marco Square. It seemed to take forever, but the journey was filled with such wonderful views… we didn’t really mind that much.

We arrived at the square just as the sun was setting! It was really cool to watch the shadows play on the walls of the cathedral. Sitting in the square was a great experience, as was the opportunity to people watch. There was a bride and groom also taking their wedding photos in the square, and I thought that was really romantic.

We left the square as night fell, and the temperatures dropped even lower. It was really cold and we were now very hungry. We found a nice little restaurant with a great looking menu, and we decided to have dinner there. Despite the cold, we chose to eat outside so that we could continue enjoying the view. We ordered a seafood pasta and a pizza and they were delicious.

Finally it was time to head home. It was in our minds, a perfect couple of hours in Venice!

 

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on November 19, 2011, in Italy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have just been to Venice. It is the most magical place. I hope i can visit often.

  2. The way the economy has hit me recently I think my trip to V is going to be a long way off.

    I’m so glad to have your piccies!!

    And such a lovely friend!

  3. Wow, I didn’t know you went to Venice after your Asian trip. Sweet!

  4. Thanks for the beautiful views of quaint towns off the beaten path commentary! I am impressed, you are very young and yet so appreciative of europe!

Leave a Reply

