48 Awesome Hours in Saigon

The 4th country on my RTW trip was Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City/Saigon to be specific. The city definitely had an up and coming metropolitan feel to it, definitely more so than Cambodia. I’m more of a countryside individual as opposed to a city lover, so I only stayed two full days there.

Regardless of my short time constraint, I managed to do quite a bit of sightseeing. After experiencing the Killing Fields in Phnom Penh, needless to say I wasn’t up to see anything pertaining to war. I wasn’t really interested in doing the touristy Mekong Delta tour either. So what else could I have possibly done? Simple. I took a city map, and took it to the streets!

I quickly found out a few things. If you stand out, touts will harass you about everything from motodop taxi rides to a pair of fake sunglasses. Thankfully, this sort of thing doesn’t really get to me really, so it didn’t scare me off track. Secondly, the traffic in Saigon is beyond ridiculous! I had to cross roads with many moving motos and pray that I would make it to the other side in one piece. If there is one thing that a traveller can do in SE Asia that will cause an adrenaline rush… is to cross one of these streets!

Here are a few photos from my walk:

All in all, it was a short yet sweet trip to Saigon. I met lots of other travelers and chatted with a few locals as well. Turned out that two German girls had a flight just 1 hour before mine, so we decided to share a taxi to the airport, booked through our hostel.

German backpackers and I at the airport!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What about the food? Did you try anything memorable there? I was watching No Reservations last night and the food in Vietnam looked so goooood!

    • I tried the Pho Bo and Banh Mi sandwich, that I saw Anthony Bourdain etc eating. They were pretty good! I also loved the strange baked goods at the bakery next to my hostel!

  2. Great pics! Planning on heading to Saigon in a few years! Did you make it out of the city in Vietnam or were you exclusively in Ho Chi Minh?

    • I only stayed in Saigon this trip. I was considering heading to Mui Ne, a beach town 4 hours up North.. but there were typhoons in the area! You’ll love Vietnam 🙂

Leave a Reply

