Last Hours in Cambodia

I woke early as this was my last day in Cambodia. I had no idea what exactly was going to happen, but going with the flow hadn’t led me wrong up to that point. I went down to the main room where breakfast was being served, and noticed another girl sitting by herself. I went up to her and introduced myself, and we ended up having breakfast together. Her name was Kathryne, and when she asked me what my plans were, I told her the truth.. I had no clue.

She told me that she was thinking of starting her day by heading to the Killing Fields, that the tuk tuk was $12, and if I would be willing to come along with her. Knowing that I was going to say goodbye to my Irish friends that very day, I agreed. We ended up spending the entire day sightseeing together, and boy.. did we squeeze in a lot of stuff!

Mass graves at the Killing Fields in Phnom Penh

The tree which was used to beat children to death

The horror of Cambodia’s all too recent past was painfully fresh, and very well documented. After going through the tour, we were quite depressed, and couldn’t really bring ourselves to eat lunch. We ended up visiting the Royal Palace instead.

The Palace grounds

After touring the Royal Palace, we walked along the river nearby and I saw something very odd…

Can someone please explain to me why this little naked boy is dragging a boat up steam with an old man inside???

At this point, we were pretty much starving, so we wandered into this cute little cafe. We chatted for a while over our late lunch, and shared some of our life stories. Turned out that Kathryne was a teacher at a prison in Leicester. I thought that was very unique!

Kathryne and I, after eating lunch

It was getting pretty late in the afternoon, and we decided that since I was leaving tomorrow, I absolutely had to see the Russian Market, so we hailed another tuk tuk and off we went!

I’m a girl. SOOOO I shopped! What else is there to do at a market? They had to literally drag us kicking and screaming out of the throngs of stalls! My last day in Cambodia was nothing short of epic… History, Food, Friendship, Sites and Shopping. Travel really doesn’t get much better than this!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on November 5, 2011, in Cambodia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awww love that you enjoyed your time in Cambodia! I didn’t visit the killing fields myself. Didn’t know if I could handle it after visiting a concentration camp in Germany.

  2. Honestly Vanny, I didn’t handle it very well at all. I actually had to walk out of the Museum! The history of my Caribbean Islands, while not as brutal.. was still too close for comfort. The Sugar Trade and slavery ended a long time ago in the Caribbean, but because Cambodia’s past is so recent, it was way too well documented not to remind me of my own country’s painful past.

    Apart from that, the day was honestly lovely and Cambodia is my favourite country in SE Asia! I would love to go back someday!

Leave a Reply

