From Siem Reap to Phnom Penh

My final night in Siem Reap was pretty awesome. I met a couple from Ireland and we went out on Pub Street for dinner, followed by a few drinks at Temple Bar. We ended up staying up until after 1am, and with a bus to catch early in the morning… we were possibly asking for trouble!

All was well however, and we met in the lobby at the arranged time, had breakfast and boarded the bus soon after. I was thrilled at having another chance to experience the views of the Cambodian countryside, and got annoyed all over again, at the many people who chose to sleep instead!

At some point during the ride, we realized something was off. This wasn’t the way we came! Apparently when we booked our bus tickets, we didn’t specify a tourist bus, so along the way our bus kept on picking up and letting off locals…bringing our journey to Phnom Penh at a royal elapsed time of 8 hours vs the expected 6! Uh oh…

After arriving, some time around 5:30pm, we hired a tuk tuk from the bus station to drop us off at our guesthouse. I checked in, paid the $10 and took a shower. Roughly 40 mins later, we were ready to hit the road for dinner. Needless to say, the food options at the stops along the bus path were far from tempting.

We walked a fair bit, until we got to Riverside where most of the nice restaurants were situated. After scanning a few of the outside menus, we settled on one which seemed diverse enough seeing that we had a vegetarian in our midst. Here’s a look at what I ate:

Fried Shrimp and chips

Pizza

Washed down with the local beer!

After dinner, I was beyond tired, so I turned in for the night. I had lots of plans for the following day and when you’re traveling, you need all the beauty sleep you can get!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Cambodia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

