Biking on the Beach

After demolishing the tasty sandwich, I felt powered up… enough to rent a bike and cruise along the path from Santa Monica Beach to Venice Beach. I popped into the shop next door, and explained to the girl at the counter, that I’d like to rent one of their bikes for an hour. She quoted me a price of US $7, which although rather pricey, was expected considering that I was hanging out on one of Los Angeles’ most popular beaches. I accepted the fee, and she then explained the shop policy. They charge you after you return the bike, and require a government issued ID as a safety deposit. Well, my drivers’ license was back at the hotel and I only had my passport on me (which I refused to be parted with).

She looked me in the eyes, then said that she’d trust me to return the bike, and she let me leave. She simply checked my passport to ensure that my name was correct, and took down the passport number, then off I went! I was lucky enough to have perfect weather… blue skies dotted with small wispy clouds, bright sunshine with a crisp cool sea breeze. It was a really nice ride. The other bikers were very courteous, never speeding on the narrow path, and always remained on their side. I’m not sure if such orderly methods would work back at home!


While biking, I passed by small parks, with children building sand castles, pushing one another on the swings and just having a grand old time. It was adorable, and I couldn’t help but to pause and watch for a bit… I love kids!

Continuing along the bike path, with a slow and steady pace (it’s a while since I last rode a bike), I happily drank in all of the sights which are icons of So Cal. From volleyball nets to surfboards.. It was all there. At this point I must confess that I was very much surprised by the beaches. Coming from a tropical Caribbean island, I didn’t know what to expect from the USA coastline. California did not disappoint!

After a while, the scenery changed drastically. It took on a grungy appeal, became very crowded and loud music drowned out the ocean. Obviously, I’d arrived in Venice Beach. There were rows and rows of shacks from which people sold everything from artwork to tacky souvenirs, and homeless people napped under the palm trees. I hopped off the bike and wheeled it along the busy street. One thing that caught my attention, was the various graffiti which covered most of the larger buildings within the area. Some were very tasteful, and I had to snap a few photos.

My journey was cut short however, when I was insistently approached by a ‘dealer’ and I jumped back on my bike and pedaled back the way I came. As a young solo female traveler, that was one scenario I preferred to run from and I really didn’t care if the person was offended!

Thankfully, the rest of my day went by without any more possible problems. After finishing my ride, I returned the bike to the shop and walked for about 15 minutes until I found the closest bus stop for my Big Blue Bus back to my hotel. At the hotel, I collected my bags from the luggage room, and sat out on the verandah for a while. It was the main area of the hotel for guests to have a smoke, so soon after a girl appeared with a cigarette in hand. She was quite friendly, and we spoke for a bit. Turned out she was from South Africa and she just landed in the USA for the first time. She was extremely excited, as she was starting her new job as a hairdresser on a Princess Cruise ship the next day.

I love cruises, so of course this was an easy topic for us to talk about! The time flew by, and before I knew it… my shuttle to the LAX airport was outside. We wished each other the best of luck, and parted ways. LA, it was really nice to meet you, and who knows… I just may see you again sooner than I think!

 

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on October 24, 2011, in USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If you enjoyed biking in LA, you’ll really like biking in Vancouver. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

