First Stop… LA!

The first stop on my RTW trip was Los Angeles, California. A sprawling metropolitan city  dotted with tall palm trees and fringed by white sand and blue waters. After exiting the airport, I was collected by the hotel’s shuttle bus, taking me to my first home away from home.

My hotel room at La Quinta Inns and Suites was absolutely lovely, and provided the perfect antidote to jet lag. Seeing a bed after a long red eye flight, is like seeing a glass of cold water after trudging though the desert. I dropped into a coma-like sleep almost immediately. Thanks to the time difference, it turned out the be the longest night of my life so far, at a grand total of 17 hours and I made the most of it! The next morning, the included ‘Bright Side’ breakfast which consisted of eggs, toast, jam, fruits and muffins was very tasty, and gave me enough fuel to start my very first day in sunny California!

Since I was only going to be in LA for 1 day, on my way to Asia, I chose to hang out at the beach, rather than to make my way downtown. I left the hotel at 10 am, and headed to the bus stop, where I would board the Big Blue Bus to Santa Monica. After waiting for about 15 minutes, the bus arrived, I paid my $1 charge and hopped onboard. The journey lasted roughly 30 minutes before I could feel the fresh ocean breeze.

I got off near the entrance of the Santa Monica Pier, and was greeted by swarms of pigeons. Groups of little children had a blast, by trying their very best to trample a few of the very chubby looking birds. It was kind of adorable, so I watched for a bit. I then strolled along the pier, and gazed upon the landmark of the area, the Santa Monica ferris wheel. It definitely gave the area a lot of character and a fun-filled ambience.

There was a lot of things to see at the Santa Monica Pier. From the many stalls that line the boardwalk, selling everything from cotton candy to hats, to the street performers trying to make their way into the entertainment industry. I wandered around, peeping into small shops and snapping photos of everything imaginable. Obviously, I was rather impressed.

I found a small little restaurant a bit off the main pier that seemed to draw a crowd, so I decided to stop for lunch. The inside decor was very retro, and I was simply loving it. The staff was friendly and kept me company while I munched on my Philly steak and cheese sandwich. While eating, I met the owner of the bike rental shop next door, and thought that it would be fun to bike along the bike path connecting Santa Monica beach to Venice beach. I’ll let you know how that went!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on October 21, 2011, in USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

