Official Packing List!

After months of careful consideration, I formulated my packing list. Deciding what to take on a month-long trip through 2 different climates was no easy task. At the moment, it’s the monsoon season in Asia, which means that I’ll be roasting in temperatures of up to 33 degrees celsius. Fast forward a little over 2 weeks into my trip, then it’s fall in Europe, with temperatures dropping to 10 degrees celsius in Venice, and even lower in Switzerland.

I wanted a nice combination of casual clothing, but also a dash of fashion for my nights out. After all, I’m on vacation! There was also the Mediterranean cruise to consider, and of course I wouldn’t want to look too out of place onboard. There are formal nights to consider too! That may sound all fine and dandy.. but then there’s a constant reminder that I’m packing really light, so I need to keep my backpack under 15 pounds. Sigh.

So with no more delay…. (drum roll please 😀 ) Here’s my list:

Clothing

2 tank tops, 2 dressy tops, 1 long-sleeved top, 2 tees ( only 1 pictured above)

1 pair of Bermuda shorts, 1 pair of leggings, 1 pair of jeans, 1 mini skirt

1 black tube dress, 1 hot pink dress

1 jacket, 1 hat, 1 purse

1 bikini set

Not pictured: 6 underwear, 3 bras, 2 pairs of socks

Footwear

1 pair of flip-flops, 1 pair of heels, 1 pair of sneakers, 1 pair of Birkenstocks sandals (here)

Cosmetics

1 solid deodorant, 1 mini lotion, toothpaste & toothbrush, 1 chapstick, contact lens & case, eye drops, 1 small grease

Not pictured (2 of my favorite eye shadows, 1 tube of lip gloss, bar of soap with soap dish, 1 hair brush)

Electronics

My latest toy, Sony Cybershot H55

2 cameras, 1 kindle, 1 blackberry curve, 1 iPod classic (160gb for storage) and chargers

Miscellaneous

1 small umbrella, 1 underwater camera case, 1 kindle light, ear buds, 3 Master locks

Extras

A few other things are on the list, which aren’t pictured above. They include:

1 sleep cap, 1 shower cap, Charmin toilet seat covers (purse pack), band aids, pain killers, 1 wash cloth, 1 sarong, 1 pen, 1 notepad, cash, credit and debit cards.

Documents

1 passport, insurance documents, 1 doctor’s letter with prescriptions, printed flight and hotel reservations, 4 passport photos.

All packed! 1 day and 10 hours left to go! 

My backpack has wheels, so I can roll it along in airports etc, and the small shoulder purse has my documents, kindle and phone.

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on September 20, 2011, in Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Love those heels! If you had the iPhone, you could’ve consolidated the phone and the iPod into one!

    There are travel sized lotions and deoderant. That should save you a tiny bit more space! Also, what about sunscreen/sunblock?!

  2. Hey Vanny! Yeah, you’re right about the iPhone. Would’ve been ideal huh? The lotion is travel sized, but the deodorant isn’t. I couldn’t really find any smaller one on my island, goodness knows I tried!

    About the sunscreen/sunblock? I’m pretty much immune honestly lol. I’m constantly in the a hot tropical climate, and unless I try to tan myself, I really don’t burn. If the sun is seriously unbearable in Asia, then I’ll definitely pick up a bottle. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Haha dang girl, you got packing light down to a science! I could definitely take some tips off of you…

    • If you need any extra opinions on traveling, I am beyond happy to help 😀 😀

      • Lol can you help me get from 16 kilos of luggage down to 10? That would make me so happy. And before you judge, you should know that on my first solo long trip (2 months in Central America) I had a whopping 22 kilos…so it’s down from that, anyway…

      • LOL! What size luggage are you planning on lugging around the world??

      • Oh I’m already traveling haha, started my RTW 5 months ago. When I went on the 2 month CA trip several years ago I had a 72 liter backpack and a carry on bag that probably held 10 -15 liters. Now I have a 52 liter backpack and a day pack, again probably 10-15 liters. I’d like to get to the point where I can pack everything, including my day pack, into my big pack.

Leave a Reply

