A New Emotional State…

I don’t know how it happened…. I genuinely have no clue whatsoever!

How did I suddenly become this laid back planner overnight???? For the last five months, I’ve been swamped in research, trying to learn as much as I could about the destinations I would be heading to.  I had separate lists…of the main tourist sites (mostly temples) that I would love to see, things I absolutely HAD to do, and even foods to order at restaurants. I think we can call that condition OCP. Over Compulsive Planning.

I’d go crazy if I couldn’t find enough information on a tour, or satisfactory reviews on a particular guesthouse. Now… I’m really not concerned anymore. I’m welcoming the unknown to join me on my RTW trip and I am absolutely baffled! The only explanation that my brain can come up with, is maybe all of those blogs written by bloggers who just go with the flow, are now having an effect on me. Question is… Is this a good or a bad thing?

Pros of Planning

1. Less things to worry about. Accommodations are already booked, destinations are decided… so simply relax and enjoy.

2. It would be rather surprising if you got caught off guard.. seeing that you’d have already planned for all ‘what if’ scenarios.

3. Less money would be wasted. You’d been working on your packing list for weeks, and you know what ATM fees to expect.

4. You’d be better financially prepared. Planners mostly start off with making a budget.. then working the trip around it.

5. You stand a better chance of doing and seeing everything that you had on your dream list.

Cons of Planning

1. Sticking to a plan can be frustrating while on vacation. May seem like you’re stuck to a schedule for the entire trip.

2. Not much room for flexibility. Love this museum? Tough luck… gotta get a move on in 30 minutes, to keep up with the timetable!

3. Not much chance for spontaneity. You may not be able to do something random and unexpected, and this can cause regret.

4. You’re less likely to form friendships on the road. Sometimes the people you meet, can make your trip totally awesome.

5. Things like illness can throw a plan out of whack. You may be forced to cancel reservations for a fee.

I think that I’m now fed up of planning. The information that I’ve gathered before, combined with this new-found feeling of spontaneity.. should make the perfect mix for my trip. I won’t make too many schedules, and I’ll try to keep my plans flexible enough that if I meet some really cool people along the way, it won’t cost me a fortune to scrap the schedule for a day or two. Why can’t I leave today????

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on September 10, 2011, in Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m 50/50 in terms of planning.

    I HAVE TO plan my transport and overnight stays beforehand. The idea not knowing how to travel from A to B and where to sleep (and shower) is a nightmare for me.

    Once I’m at a location I’m not that organized. I have some ideas what to see and where to go, but usually I’m quite flexible to those ideas and do what I want to do.

    • I think I tend to be a bit more free spirited in places that I know finding accommodation is no issue (SE Asia for example). In places like Innsbruck Austria, I definitely would want to have a room booked ahead of time. The backpacker scene isn’t as large there. I do love the freedom of just making random decisions while I travel though! Thanks for your input! 😀

      • Aye, but as I’m not a classical backpacker I usually prefer reading a bit beforehand where to stay.
        Like a clean private bathroom is quite important for me 😉
        But what you say is very true for Europe. In many cities – like mine – backpacker rooms are very limited and youth hostels are sometimes too strict for backpackers.

Leave a Reply

