This is Really Happening!

I jolted from my bed this morning with one thought imprinted in my mind. This is really happening!!!

Many of us at some point in our lives, dream of doing lots of stuff. Question is, how many of us actually end up crossing half of those things off our dream list? Reality? They usually stay unchecked, and locked away in a box under the bed labeled ‘I Wish…’ and that’s the end of the story. This morning however, the fact that I was really and truly making a 360 degree circle around the globe stunned me to my core! O M G.

My face almost split in two, as a result of the huge grin plastered on it. I was simply overjoyed and I’m really glad for this emotion, because the last strong emotion I had concerning my RTW trip, was panic. Panic about all of the stuff that I need to get done in less than a month, panic about arriving in countries where there’s no one to meet me at the airport, and mostly…panic about my very first grand adventure.

When I look back at the past few months, I find it so hard to believe that the idea of this trip never entered my mind until 6-7 months ago! Most globe trotters that I know of, have been dreaming of a trip like this for years. This just goes to show exactly how determined and dedicated I can be to traveling, once an idea has popped into my head. I didn’t take out a loan, knowing that I was planning a RTW trip in only 6 months. I saved from scratch. Parties passed me by, lots of events (such as taking part in Carnival this year) couldn’t happen… along with a whole list of things which I won’t bore you with.

My point? If I can do this with only 6 months of planning…. anyone can travel the world. Saving for a big trip is never easy. What was my biggest hurdle? Saying ‘no’ to my friends. It wasn’t fun, turning down countless invitations for a night out with mis amigos, but it was necessary. The only consolation I had, was that I’d rather save that $50 now, and use it during my trip to do an awesome activity that I may never get another chance to experience.

The planning was pretty tiresome at times. I love to plan stuff, but everyone has a limit! I mean come on, how many details can I seriously remember about a place which I’ve never been to? That doesn’t mean I didn’t try to learn them all though! However, the most useful information I found were always from other travel blogs. Nothing quite beats the actual experience of other travelers, when it comes to reliable info. Of course I’m aware that the blogger’s personal opinion will shine through in the blog… but even that is better than reading brochures, where the main goal is to part you from whatever $$$ you have in your name!

So… am I ready? Not quite, but I will be! I can’t wait to hit the road. I’m a small town island girl who’s about to explore distant countries on a journey to circumnavigate the world! I can’t think of anything right now that can beat this feeling. Almost there!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Jodi! Wow, it’s really getting closer! I’m also excited seeing your RTW trip about to happen very soon.

Leave a Reply

