Capture the Moment

For the past week or so, I have been focusing on a very important aspect of any RTW trip. Photography. It is one thing to travel around the world, see amazing sites and landscapes, sample a wide array of cuisine and have many great experiences, but what about the memories which we have on film or our SD cards?

This factor is surprisingly not often considered, and it’s rather sad. Many travelers simply pack the smallest digital camera that they can find and simply take random shots of anything that they find interesting. Little or no thought is given to technique, such as using specific angles or focus. I am by no means, anything close to being a professional photographer with the very best gear. I have simply developed an appreciation for bloggers who try to be creative with their photos. It’s not hard to tell the difference between a person who is interested in making wonderful memoirs, and a person who just points and shoots.

It is my goal to have great photos after my trip has ended. They will be my most precious souvenirs which also has a $0 price tag. However, a large amount of research and practice is necessary for this to happen. I have been reading many articles online for the average photographer newbie, and I’ve begun to take photos of any and everything on my island. I’ve invested in a compact camera since I’m traveling light, but my new Sony has 12x optical zoom, and that’s good enough for me! I can honestly say that after countless attempts, my photos have improved in quality, and I am so proud!

Another factor which motivates me to upgrade my photography skills is my website. I want to give nothing but my absolute best to my readers. I know that I appreciate the efforts made by other bloggers, whose articles make me feel as if I am actually traveling along with them. Living vicariously through the awesome travels of others is quite the universal hobby for travelers either temporarily at home, or those who are currently working… (to save money to travel even more!)

Therefore I consider it only fair that I try to do the same for others! 23 days and counting… trip here I come!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Loved the post. I’ve always been really into photography, but it’s been at the forefront over the last year when I started my RTW. I think of my photos as my most important souvenir – I’d be heartbroken if I lost them. My motto is – memory is cheap so take as many photos as you want.

    Technique comes into play as well. Over the last year I’ve really improved and can now take photos that I may not have known how to before. There’s so many resources on the net so it’s not something that costs a lot of money either.

    Looking forward to seeing your photos as you travel along!

    • Hi Claire! I love your motto! I don’t even want to think about how tragic it would be to lose any photos of a RTW trip! If my photos look even half as good as yours do, I’ll be beyond happy =)
      Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Pingback: A Morning in Koper, Slovenia in Photos « Travels in Transit…

Leave a Reply

