The Art of Bed Hopping

Nooo.. I don’t mean that in a naughty way! However, it doesn’t change the fact that we hop from bed to bed while on the road. Hotels, hostels, guesthouses and inns are few of the accommodation options which are open to travelers and several factors should be taken into consideration before deciding which room to spend your money on.

Price

Where you decide to stay obviously depends on your budget. From $50 guesthouses to $5 dorm beds in a hostel, the choices are far from limited. In my case, if I had to stamp a label on myself, I would fall into the category ‘flashpacker’. This terms means that I’m on a budget, yet I would pay that extra $3 for a room with wi-fi access and air conditioning, over a room without. Hardcore backpackers would survive without these luxuries, but there are certain creature comforts which I am simply not willing to do without!

Security

My safety is a main priority as a female, and when I’m looking at accommodation options I look to see if they have either a security guard, or 24 hour reception. Knowing that workers are around all night puts my mind at ease, seeing that this would be somewhat of a deterrent for thieves. If I’m staying in a dorm room, the hostel must provide individual lockers in the rooms, where I can store my belongings safely. With this in mind, I’m bringing along a combination lock to secure my locker, especially when I’m out and about.

Reviews

The opinions of travelers who’ve been there before, play a very big role in my decision to book a room or not. Stuff such as dirty linen, bed bugs and dusty rooms are a few of the biggest turn-offs, and once I read more than one review complaining about said issues, I keep it moving. On the other hand, if a hotel/hostel has many positive reviews, this will encourage me to make a booking.

Location

The surroundings of where I’m staying is very important too. Is it a good neighborhood? Are there supermarkets and restaurants nearby if  I get hungry? Is it downtown? If not, how is the transportation system? I don’t want to feel stranded in the middle of a foreign country, so accommodations nearby to main transport hubs or in the middle of the city is preferable.

Conclusion

These factors are my guidelines when looking at where I plan to stay during my RTW trip. I’m only booking three rooms in advance, and the rest will be taken care of on the road. This way, I won’t find myself stuck in a crappy room for three nights in a row, because I booked it in advance, and there is no cancellation refund policy. I’ve never traveled like this before, but I’m really excited to be independent! How do you plan your RTW trip? Do you look for rooms ahead of time, or worry about it when you get there?

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

