Don’t Rain On My Parade…

This is post number 13. How coincidental, that this post is not going to have a happy ring to it?

It happened! The moment that all addicted travelers know that they have to face, and it downright sucks… Today, I had my first encounter with a person who didn’t ‘get’ my trip. When I say that, I don’t simply mean disinterest, but rather disagreement with the fact that I was doing it at all… and they didn’t even say it to my face. That’s what I think hurts the most. N.B, I am actually close to this person.

The sad thing is, most of what he said, reflects on the conventional manner of thinking that society has embraced. The whole ‘follow the flock of sheep’ syndrome. I’m not going to lie. I got pissed as hell. These are a few of the comments that were made:

1. It sounds like a great trip, but why? What’s the point?

2. She should wait until her boyfriend can come along.

3. How did she manage to use her miles that way? Is that even legit?

4. She’s not going to have any fun if she’s traveling alone. Is it even safe?

Now, I’m sorry if anyone agreed with the comments above, but frankly… this is total ignorance. Point blank. I purposefully waited 12 hours, to allow myself to calm down a bit before even considering to write this post. I will now proceed to give a response to his questions, not for his sake… but for anyone else who may be thinking along the same lines.

1. Yes. It is a great trip and thanks for noticing. However, my trip doesn’t need a grand explanation or a life moving reason as to why I am doing it. No…. I’m not crazy, I’m not dying and I’m not looking for danger. I am simply doing what makes me happy. I love travel, and I don’t think that love needs a reason. I want to swim with dolphins, climb a mountain, do an extreme sport and sail the Mediterranean Sea. Those are my bucket list dreams… Sue me.

2. Let’s get this out of the way now. I love my boyfriend. He is loyal, understanding, patient and he simply ‘gets’ me. Hell, he even saved my life once, when I was a breath away from drowning. Simply put, he’s my hero. However, I am fiercely independent. I guess it comes from being an only child, but I have no problem with traveling by myself for a little while. You can insert ‘gasp‘ here. Being in a relationship doesn’t mean that we both have the same dreams. My boyfriend isn’t as passionate about seeing the world as I am… So what do you suggest? I flush my dreams down the toilet, or wait indefinitely for him to decide that he’s willing? Come on now, enough with the anti-feminism. This is the year 2011!

3. As for the third question, forgive me if I simply think out of the box. American Airlines issues one way award tickets for a reason. There is no law that states that my miles must be used in a traditional roundtrip flight. I don’t look down on anyone who uses their miles for a trip to Hawaii and back. That’s actually a pretty nice vacation. I’m just simply cut out different, and to answer the question of whether my mileage usage is legitimate… check www.aa.com for details!

4 (a). As one of my readers so wisely pointed out.. Not because I am traveling solo, means that I am traveling alone. There are many other like-minded individuals out there who have an insatiable appetite to see the wonderful world that we live in. There is no doubt in my mind, that I will meet other travelers along the way. I will have an epic time… Nuff said.

4 (b). A RTW trip is as safe as you make it. If travelers make thoughtless decisions, get wasted every night and throw all caution to the wind… of course shit will go wrong. However, if I am not that person at home, why would I randomly turn into one?? If I am street smart here at home, I will simply become a street genius on my trip. Things can go wrong yes, but I will do everything I can to prevent mistakes from happening.

There, I vented. I feel quite a bit better now and thank you for reading! Have you ever dealt with this type of negativity before, and if so, how did you deal?

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 30, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There will always be people questioning what you do in life. I’m with you on this. Do what makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

