Getting My Feet in Gear

There are many decisions to face when planning a trip. One of those important choices, is determining which pairs of shoes to pack. In my case, I am traveling extremely light, so I am limited to 1 pair of sneakers, 1 pair of sandals and a pair of regular rubber flip flops for questionable room floors.

The other day, I decided to shop for a new pair of sandals for my trip. There were two brands in my mind: A pair of Birkenstocks, or a pair of Chacos. I researched quite a bit online and scanned countless packing lists on different RTW blogs. Many bloggers seemed to love Chacos, but several blogs were more than a year old. The more recent travelers seemed to be rocking Birkenstocks.

Of course, I prefer to be in the ‘now’, and given that both brands seemed to be awesome, the Birkenstock made it to the top of the list. Luckily, I knew exactly where to go. Recently, a Birkenstock store opened in town, so I drove over…armed with my debit card. The sales clerks at the store were pleasant and helpful, and after less than 15 minutes, I walked out with a brand new pair of black birkis. My first major purchase for the trip, and it set me back by USD $100. Antigua, is not a cheap place to live!

My New Sandals!!!

I took my shoes out on a test run, and I love them! They are beyond comfortable and sturdy, and pretty good looking on my feet. I just know that we’ll become best of friends over the 4 weeks of traveling. What type of shoes do you love to travel in?

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

