5 Things I’m Looking Forward To

1.  Explore Local Markets

You can really get a feel for a country or town by visiting the local markets. This is a place where you are guaranteed to find scores of locals being themselves. Here, there are no false smiles, nor forced happy faces. What you see is what you get, and more often than not, it’s the real thing. I absolutely love to meander through the stalls, sample different types of fruits and vegetables, and make small purchases to enjoy after my visit.  I’ve only been to Caribbean markets, so I can hardly wait to see what those in Asia are like!

2. Gaze at Architecture

I’m not a pro, and as a matter of fact, I am far from it. However, I have an eye for nice architecture, whether they be in the form of modern skyscrapers, fancy buildings or ancient ruins. These works of art, are some of the most striking features of a place, which lets me know for sure that I am far away from home. I am rather easily impressed, so I know that finding lots of fascinating buildings to photograph won’t be a tiring task.

3. Be Adventurous

I want to step out of my boundaries. I’m not sure exactly how this is going to happen, but I know for sure that most times, these experiences are never planned. I’m looking forward to having a go on the Gmax Reverse Bungee in Singapore. It may not be the most pulse pounding experience, but I’ve got to start somewhere. Any ideas?

4. Making New Friends

I’ve never stayed in hostels before. This will be my first time booking, locating and sleeping in a hostel. I think it’s going to be quite the experience, and I am determined to enjoy it for what it’s worth. I look forward to meeting people from all over the world, and to hear the many tales I’m sure that they have to share! Seeing that I’ll be traveling alone for a bit, new friendships will most definitely be welcomed.

5. Taking Public Transportation

When traveling on a budget, public transportation is a must. Taxis are usually insanely expensive, unless you’re in certain countries such as in SE Asia. Therefore, I’ll be attempting to ride on public buses with the locals and trying to get around on the metro alone (something I have never done before). This will test my inner traveler, and I can’t wait!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Making new friends? Naturally. I wouldn’t take it for granted all the travelers speaking english, so you might need to use hand&leg gestures to talk with locals or tell a story to other travellers you cross roads with. But smile is internationally understood and spoken 🙂

    • Aliz! I’ll then become a pro at silent communication! Wish me luck!
      P.S I can’t wait to hear crazy stories from other travelers too! 😀

  2. Sounds so exciting! Reminds me of when I travelled on my own. Even now, when I’m not travelling on a tiny budget, I still take public transit. I only take the taxi when absolutely necessary, like when I arrive into a city at night.

    And the markets in Southeast Asia, you’re going to love. I’ve only been to Cambodia in that region, but

  3. Yikes! I wasn’t done and I accidentally posted my comment! As I was saying, I’ve only been to Cambodia, but I think you’ll get along fine. You’re going to use a lot of sign language indeed. I’ll be following your journey!

  4. I’m always happy to meet someone else who loves to travel! Thanks for passing by! Vanny, to be honest, I am still a bit nervous about traveling alone in Asia even if it’s only for 2 weeks. I’ve never gone solo before, and since I see that you have, do you have any tried and true tips? I would absolutely appreciate it.

    Wow. I’m already looking forward to the markets already, and as for the sign language… bring it on! 🙂 As for the public transportation, I think this will be one of the aspects of the trip which I will feel most proud of after it’s over. It may not be as easy as hopping into a cab, but it will be a much more rewarding experience!

  5. You may be solo, but if you don’t want to be, you won’t be alone most of the times. You’ll meet fellow travellers and likely new friends! Oh, if you’re getting a ride on a moto, don’t let the driver take your bag to put it in the front basket. A friend of mine trusted her driver and when she got off the bike, he sped off with her bag! Most people you meet though are wonderful, but just keep your belongings with you at all times.

Leave a Reply

