Why only a month??

I anticipate mixed reactions about the length of time which my trip will take. I understand that most people equate a trip around the world with a 80 day minimum, such as in the case of Phileas Fogg, or longer trips such as the ever popular gap year. Although I would love to increase my trip length this year, it’s really not possible. This month-long trip is a very last-minute thought, and that’s why I limited my travels to only 3 continents.

However, what I have realized, is that most persons who embark on these longer journeys, took a shorter trip of around 3-6 weeks in order to see whether they could handle the long-term commitment comfortably. I am doing the same thing. I eventually plan to do a longer trip, but I just felt like I absolutely had to do this right now. I love my job and I’m still training (kind of like school). However, I am lucky enough to  live in a country where it is not unheard of for people to be granted long vacations, once they are owed the days.

So this month, will be my experiment. I have so many things I want to find out during my RTW trip. Can I take care of myself, while I travel solo for 2 weeks in South East Asia? Can I live out of a small backpack? What is my minimum comfort level? Can I manage a budget overseas for 4 weeks? Am I brave enough to face transport options which are not available on my tiny island? Tuk Tuks, motodops and metros are all foreign concepts here. Yes, metros are not in Antigua. I’ve had some previous experience with the subways in New York, but only once was I truly involved in the process of purchasing the tickets. Yikes!

This trip will be the longest period of time, that I have been away from family and friends. If this trip works out as well as I hope, you can bet that there’ll be no stopping me. One trip will blend into two… then three and who knows when the cycle will end. After this trip, the website will continue to function, while I make plans for a longer trip in the near future. I will most definitely be revisiting several of the countries on my current itinerary, but different cities instead. For example, I plan on visiting Saigon for 3 nights this September, so during my next trip, I would visit Hanoi for sure.

I will definitely need some help with ideas and words of encouragement. I am a bit nervous yes, but my thirst for adventure and the excitement of the unknown are even stronger emotions. Bring it on….I’m ready!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Started reading your posts and I am excited for you. The length of time of a RTW trip does not matter to anyone but yourself. You will be just fine. I did 4 months and felt that was short. There are people who have been on the road for months with no signs of stopping. Like you said this is a good test of how long you can last on the road by yourself.

  2. Brian, thanks for your support! I really hope I can handle it, because if so, it will definitely not be my last solo experience!

  3. We did a RTW for 6.5 weeks- and it was great! Of course I felt like I hit my stride as we were about to come home… but now we are planning another one! The time has to be right for you- whether you travel for one week or years. Good luck!

  4. Hi there Jade! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Glad to know that you loved your mini RTW so much that you’re now planning another one. Good luck with the planning, and I hope that all goes well. Guess it’s easier to choose which countries to visit this second time around, eh? LOL.

Leave a Reply

