Who am I?

Welcome to my blog….well, my first blog if I dare to be so honest. I’m a total newbie struggling to stay afloat in the vast sea of travel blogging. I’m not worried though, my fellow bloggers have been a life preserve during my early stages of planning my next trip, and I think that it’s only fair that I keep the lamp burning for others to find their way.

Who am I? My name is Jodi, and I’m addicted to travel. I have literally, for years, thought of little else besides where I’m going next, the trip after that, and the trip after that….and I believe you get my point.  It’s really bad… bad as in my career is centered around travel. I’m an Air Traffic Controller, which means that every day I mourn as others board countless planes, on their way to countless destinations.

Nevertheless, I totally love my job and I’m thrilled at having a hand in the smooth running of the travel plans of thousands. This obsession is perfectly normal behavior for me, however, I’m sad to say that there’s not that many travelholics where I live. Where is that you may ask? I live in the Caribbean on a tiny island by the name of Antigua.

I have been, what some might consider, a cookie cutter traveler. I’ve been on many cruises and family vacations, but have yet to actually test myself in the great unknown. Well, all of that is about to change. From now on, I intend to be an Indie Traveler, with all of the perks attached! I don’t expect it to be glamorous, and definitely not a smooth transition. Nevertheless, it’s a challenge I am desperate to face.

So, I will be depending on you, for company and the loads of advice and great ideas that I hope you’ll share with me as I prepare for a journey that until 3 months ago, never even crossed my mind. I’m planning my first RTW (Round the World) trip, and I have never attempted anything remotely close to this in my life. We can call this ‘My Experiment’.

The year 2011, promises to be pretty awesome, as I embark on a journey which will take me to foreign lands, some I’ve only seen on a map, and others I simply have never heard of before until now….(Cambodia).

Naturally, I have a bit of apprehension concerning this trip of a lifetime, but I’m also really pumped for the prospect of adventure. For the moment, I will cast aside my conflicting emotions, as I’m just simply happy to finally be part of the travel community of the world-wide web, and I know my life can only get better from here on!

About Jodi

I absolutely love to travel. Most days, it's hard to focus on anything else. However, I'd like to change my travel style from now on. I have always been a 'safe' traveler, with hotel reservations made, cruise vacations and a set timetable. I want to break out of that habit, and become an independent backpacker. This blog will serve to document my aspirations to experiment with traveling solo, around the world!

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hello Jodi! Thanks for dropping by in my blog. My wishes for your good planning and eventual RTW tour. Go, go, go! I have been in Cambodia early this year. My advice is: spend at least 2 days to explore the Angkor Wat (Siem Reap), and you’ll never regret it. All the best to you!

    http://www.mariainschweiz.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

